Ruth Mul

I was born in Vancouver and have lived in Ladner as well before settling in Richmond. I got married in 1993 and we have three wonderful children. Sarah is 22 and attending the University of the Fraser Valley, Victoria is 19 and attending Langara and my son Nathaniel is 15 and goes to high school here in Richmond.                  

My first experience working in a daycare made me realize that I wanted this to be my career. After I got married and we had our first child, I opened my own Family Daycare. While running my daycare, I went back to school and received my Early Childhood Educator Certification. I have since worked in several Preschools as well as a Montessori school.

When I teach, I want the children to have fun learning while creating opportunities for them to grow in a secure environment. I also believe that the children teach me how to look at things through their eyes. A crucial part of my job is teaching them to love learning from an early age, so we can pave the way for future success and show them the value of the continuous search for knowledge. I try to be consistent, and show them they are loved with a hug. It’s important to make them feel safe, and show that they can trust you.

What I love the most is seeing a child’s face light up when they figure out how to achieve a task they have been working on- that moment when they realize, “I did it!” You get to be a part of the messy and amazing learning process. They remind me to celebrate the little things in life, such as discovering something new in nature, or pouring water and watching as it goes down a slide. I absolutely love when they do or say something that makes me laugh out loud!

My children all love my pesto pasta with chicken.

If I had superpowers, I would want to save our planet from climate change and have the ability to be invisible when I want to be.

My very favorite pastime is spending time with my family. I love going out for a meal together, to a movie or bowling, and we love to bbq together. I also enjoy reading, riding my bike and going for walks.