Cheska Bersoto (She/Her)


In 2017, I did my practicum for my Social Work program at a Senior’s Recreational Centre. The manager of the centre would sometimes bring her grandson and I would usually play with him during my lunch break. One day, she told me that if I decide to pursue another career, I should look into being an ECE because she witnessed how I was with her grandson. I looked into it and instantly got very interested. When I finished my Social Work program, I applied for my Childhood Development Worker certificate in Alberta. When I got it, I applied for an ECE position and got the job. It’s been 4 years of being an ECE and still very grateful to everything that has led to this path.

I believe that the role of an educator is a balance between observing, co-learning and creating child-inspired teacher led experiences. I strongly believe in trust and connection between educators, children and families in order to be able to facilitate learning experiences. I used a rights based approach to guide children as well as trauma informed based strategies.

Children remind me that we can always find joy in the littlest and simplest things in life. They are so genuine, and their energy and joy are contagious. They are naturally curious and they never fail to spark my curiosity. I absolutely  love co-learning with them.

I hope they remember me as a safe place for them. I hope they remember how much joy and laughter they have brought me. I hope they remember that there is a Ms. Cheska who always believes that they are capable of doing amazing things and making a difference in the world.

I would love to own a bookstore-cafe. I would love to showcase authors and coffee beans from all over the world, especially my home country, the Philippines.

“You’re never too old to try something new.”

My parents and my husband. My parents are both teachers in the Philippines and have been in the profession for over 30 years. I’ve  witnessed how much impact they have made to their students. My husband is the most hardworking person I know, he always supports and encourages me to try things outside of my comfort zone. They are my biggest support system.

If I had a superpower, it would definitely be teleportation so I can easily visit my family in the Philippines and my husband’s family in Germany. I would also use this power to fulfill my dream of traveling around the world so I can experience different cultures, meet new people and gain new perspectives.

I love reading, visiting cafes and bookstores. I also love hiking and mountain biking with my husband. Another favourite pastime of mine is just being by the ocean with a book in hand especially in the summer.